CUHK
 
Faculty of Education, CUHK

       
首頁 |  聯絡我們 |  網站地圖 |  ENG
 

 
首頁  >  修讀課程  >  學位教師教育文憑(幼兒教育)課程  >  科目總表及學科概要
 
 

科目總表

 
本院有權因應招生及報讀情況取消部分主修科目或選修科目。以下科目總表僅供參考,各科目並非每年開設。
 
學位教師教育文憑(幼兒教育)課程
 
 

學科概要

 

PGDC 5001 & 5101 幼兒教育的課程與教學

  本科旨在介紹幼兒教育(幼教)課程的發展與教學。本科會涵蓋的課題包括:
( 1 )  不同學習範疇的學與教原則,例如:語文、早期數學、藝術、科學與科技、個人與群體、及體能與健康;
( 2 )  幼教課程設計、施行、與評估的原則與概念;
( 3 )  設計符合幼兒身心發展的學習經驗;
( 4 )  為幼兒提供有質素的學習經驗;
( 5 ) 幼兒學習評估;
( 6 )  入學適應和幼稚園與小學的銜接。
 

PGDC 5201 幼兒教育的基礎

 

本科旨在介紹幼兒教育(幼教)的原則。本科會涵蓋的課題包括:
( 1 )  幼教的基礎原則及理論;
( 2 )  影響幼教的社會及文化因素;
( 3 )  幼教教學法,包括:符合幼兒身心發展的學習、探究式學習、全語言、主題、遊戲為本、設計活動、綜合課程和高廣度;
( 4 )  香港當代的幼教議題;
( 5 )  幼教工作者的專業角色。

 

PGDC 5301 幼兒教育管理及其持續發展

 

本科是向幼兒教育工作者介紹不同的組織及管理理論,並從社會,學校及個人三個層次,應用這些理論和知識。首先分析問責及質素保証機制的理念,數据為基礎的學校發展及如何準備學校內評及外評事宜。其次,討論校本管理的實踐,當中包括資源管理,教師專業發展及團隊建立等議題。最後,探討教師專業精神及如何在知識上裝備幼教工作者,讓他們將來能夠承担學校領導或教師領導的角色。本課程提供給幼教工作者這些學校管理的概念知識,成為幼教機構能夠持續發展的基礎。

 

PGDC 5302 家長參與幼童的教育

 

本課程旨在協助學員在幼兒教育中發展與家庭及社區的協作能力,本科尤著重於以下課題:家長在促進幼童成長所擔任的角色、家長與教師之間的互動關係,在香港現行的家校協作政策及在本地及國際教育變遷脈絡下的協作措施。

 

PGDC 5401 兒童早期發展

 

本科旨在介紹零至八歲兒童的生理、認知、情緒和社交等範疇的發展。 本科透過闡釋主要發展理論/觀點和相關實證研究,讓學員了解兒童早期發展的各種潛能和影響相關因素,同時加強學員對兒童發展的認識,例如:如何有效地甄別和照顧兒童的發展需要、如何對兒童進行恰當的觀察與評估等,以應用於幼兒教育上。

 

PGDC 5402 支援有不同學習需要的幼童

 

本科以跨學科角度介紹在融合教育中支援不同學習需要的重要議題。 本科首先分析當代特殊教育、融合教育、照顧個別差異的政策發展與爭議,然後介紹及早識別與介入支援有適應、認知、溝通、身體及社交情緒發展困難幼兒的原則,了解他們的發展特點與需要,以提高教師在正規課堂中照顧他們的專業能力。本課程亦會探討課程及教學問題,家校協作及社區資源運用等課題。

PGDC 5901 教學實習
 

教學實習是學位教師教育文憑(幼兒教育)課程的重要部分,它為學員提供實踐教學理論的機會。實習期間,本院導師進行視導,為學員的教學表現、專業修養及教學態度等作進展性及總結性評估,以支援學員的專業發展。

 

PGDP 5207 資訊及通訊科技教學

 

資訊及通訊科技高速發展為老師和學生提供了新的教與學機遇。此課程旨在教導學員如何在小學教育的教學過程中融合資訊及通訊科技。內容包括:(1)多媒體及網上教學資源應用;(2)電子學習設計與資源開發;(3)小學資訊素養架構及發展;及(4)小學學科教學設計中資訊及通訊科技的應用及挑戰。

 

PGDP 5209 兒童文學與讀寫能力發展

 

本科旨在以兒童文學促進幼兒及兒童語言的發展。本科除了培養學員的兒童文學專業素養,以便對兒童文學的基本理論和體裁知識有系統而全面的認識,並增強學員認識各類兒童讀物的深廣度,協助他們建立教學活動的學養基礎,以鼓勵他們應用兒童文學來發展兒童的讀寫能力。

本科主要學習內容包括三大範疇:
( 1 )  兒童文學的意義、特質與教育功能;
( 2 )  兒童文學各種體裁(兒歌、童詩、童話、傳記、故事、神話、寓言、小說、散文、圖畫書等)的特點;及
( 3 ) 兒童文學的賞析與教學:以兒童文學的基本理論及各種體裁知識為經,以各種體裁作品閱讀及賞評為緯,引導學員探究兒童文學教學活動與策略之應用,以發展兒童的讀寫能力。

 

PGDP 5210 以遊戲作為兒童綜合學習的策略

 

本科旨在介紹遊戲作為兒童綜合學習策略的相關理論、特徵和實踐。主要內容包括以下幾方面:
( 1 )  遊戲特徵;
( 2 ) 遊戲的理論和實踐;
( 3 )  遊戲作為一種綜合學習的策略,在促進兒童發展中的作用,例如,遊戲與幼兒語言發展、認知發展、社會發展、情緒發展、及體能發展等;
( 4 ) 遊戲的環境和資源;
( 5 ) 遊戲中兒童發展的評估;
( 6 ) 教師在遊戲中的角色。

 

PGDP 5306 香港教育政策與實踐

 

本科旨在協助教師理解香港教育體系,及其對教師職業與工作環境的影響。本科的設計是為教師介紹各種分析工具,以便能理解及評核教育政策及其實施情況。香港的教育問題與政策會從以下兩方面作分析,其一是以國際比較觀點,其二是本地對效率與公平的關注。本科會就自1982年國際顧問團報告書以來的各種教育政策提議及報告作一扼要的歷史回顧,並會對以下的課題作探討:
( 1 )  學校體系與課程;
( 2 )  學位分配、學生篩選與考試制度;
( 3 )  工作及職業教育;
( 4 ) 學校質素;
( 5 )  性別與階級上的教育差異及
( 6 )  教師教育與資歷。

 

PGDP 5312 價值與道德教育

 

本科旨在協助教師反省本身的價值及在學校內進行價值教育,特別是道德教育時,所採取的方法。其中,學員須反省的問題包括:教師應否把自己的價值在課堂上教授?又或者在教學工作中價值傳遞根本是否無可避免的?以教育作為培養人追求個人及社會美好的品質出發,本科將探討一系列在全人教育中的價值,例如真、美、道德與神聖等。本科將本著:教育是無可避免地涉及價值,而且道德價值亦是教育目的中的一個不可或缺的成份,據此,本科得探討道德的本質,檢視道德教育的各種取向,並與其他價值教育作比較。最後亦會從價值及道德教育出發,協助學員理解個人及專業的發展並反省在不同教學崗位上的角色。

 

PGDP 5317 回首來時路︰香港教育的歷史脈絡

 

本科旨在協助學員對身處的社會脈絡及教育制度作出反思。本科會以歷史學的角度,闡釋香港在殖民時代不同時期的教育特色,以及分析社會發展與教育轉變之間的關係。以期學員對英國管治下香港教育的獨特之處,有較廣闊及透徹的理解。

 

PGDP 5402 兒童心理發展

 

本科旨在探索兒童發展的處境、性質和動力。課程的核心,在於兩個相關的層面:(1) 兒童在群性、情緒、智能、德性以及美感發展方面的理論性了解;(2) 在學校環境中促進兒童發展的具體實踐。時下備受關注的議題(例:優才發展及各類型的心理困擾),亦將予以討論。

 

PGDP 5408 兒童輔導

 

本科旨在介紹從事兒童工作時回應孩子各種發展及適應需要的基本輔導技巧。主要涉及的課題包括:如何跟兒童建立融洽的關係;運用玩具、戲劇、美術、音樂以及其他創意技巧跟不同能力水平的兒童進行互動。在課程中,學員將會對兒童的感受和需要有更深入的了解,並更意識到對兒童的回應可以促成正面的情感關係的建立,改善兒童的行為,最終讓他們在學習上獲得更佳的效果。此外,本課程亦會討論家庭與學校在兒童工作中的角色。

 

PGDE 5319 教師的個人成長

 

本科主旨是要提高教師對個人成長的了解和關注。課程重點放在精神和生理健康,和一些與教師個人成長有關的課題上。學員完成這課程後,會對自己的成長需要更了解,並能發現多些處理個人精神和健康問題的方法。課程內容包括:教師和事業,有效教師的質素,教師自我形像,教師的反省能力,教師的生理健康,壓力的處理,支援系統,個人成長方法,和如何投入改變與成長。課程會提供學員一些經驗活動,希望增加學員的自我認知,更了解影響個人和專業發展的因素。

CUHK  
 
Faculty of Education, CUHK
 
       
Home |  Contact us |  Sitemap | 中文
 

 
Home  >  Programmes of Study  >  Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Education) programme - Course List and Description
 
Course Descriptions
 

Course List

 
The faculty reserves the right to cancel major subject(s) or course(s) based on admission and enrollment situation. The course list below is for reference only. The offering of courses varies from year to year.
 
Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Education) programme
 
 

Course Description

 

PGDC 5001 & 5101 Early Childhood Education: Curriculum and Teaching

  The course aims to introduce the basic principles in curriculum development and practical classroom delivery skills in early childhood education (ECE). Aspects to be covered in the course include:
( 1 )  learning and teaching principles of different learning areas, such as language, early mathematics, arts, science and technology, self and society, and physical fitness and health;
( 2 )  principles and key concepts underpinning the design, implementation, and evaluation of ECE curriculum;
( 3 )  Lesson planning;
( 4 )  planning developmentally appropriate learning experiences;
( 5 )  skills in delivering quality learning experiences for young children;
( 6 )  assessing the learning of young children; and
( 7 )  adaptation to school life (transition from home to school) and interface between preschool and primary school.
 

PGDC 5201 Foundations of Early Childhood Education

 

The course aims to introduce the key principles of early childhood education (ECE). Topics to be covered in the course include:
( 1 )  basic principles and theories of ECE;
( 2 )  social and cultural factors influencing ECE;
( 3 )  ECE approaches, including, Developmentally Appropriate Practice (DAP), inquiry-based learning, whole language, theme-based, play-based, project, integrated curriculum, and High/Scope;
( 4 )  contemporary ECE issues in Hong Kong; and
( 5 )  professional roles of early childhood educators.

 

PGDC 5301 Educational Management and Sustainable Development of Early Childhood Settings

 

This course provides an introduction to various organizational and management theories to early childhood education practitioners. The application of these theories and knowledge in early childhood education institutions will be illustrated in three levels: the social, school and individual level. First, rationales of accountability and quality assurance mechanism, data driven school improvement and matters in preparation for school self-evaluation and external review are examined. Second, the implementation of school-based management such as resource management, professional development of teachers and team building are discussed. Third, teacher professionalism and ways to equip early childhood practitioners with sufficient knowledge in order to fulfill their respective roles as school leaders or teacher leaders are presented. The course provides participants with conceptual knowledge in school management that serves as the basis of sustainable development of early childhood education institutions.

 

PGDC 5302 Parental Involvement in Young Children’s Education

 

This course provides an introduction to various organizational and management theories to early childhood education practitioners. The application of these theories and knowledge in early childhood education institutions will be illustrated in three levels: the social, school and individual level. First, rationales of accountability and quality assurance mechanism, data driven school improvement and matters in preparation for school self-evaluation and external review are examined. Second, the implementation of school-based management such as resource management, professional development of teachers and team building are discussed. Third, teacher professionalism and ways to equip early childhood practitioners with sufficient knowledge in order to fulfill their respective roles as school leaders or teacher leaders are presented. The course provides participants with conceptual knowledge in school management that serves as the basis of sustainable development of early childhood education institutions.

 

PGDC 5401 Early Childhood Development

 

This course aims to introduce the main aspects of child development, including physical, cognitive, affective and social development, from birth to the eighth year of age. The development of various competencies in early childhood and the factors that affect the development will be illuminated with major developmental theories/perspectives and relevant empirical research. The course will also help students appreciate that a deep understanding of child development can inform the practice of early childhood education, such as how to identify and cater for the needs of individual children effectively and how to conduct child observation and assessment appropriately.

 

PGDC 5402 Supporting Young Children with Diverse Needs

 

This course employs a cross-disciplinary perspective to introduce important issues in supporting children with diverse needs in integrated school settings. First, we examine contemporary policy changes and theoretical controversies in special education, integration and catering the diverse needs. We then discuss basic principles of early identification and early intervention of children, in particular, the types of difficulties in the areas of adaptive, cognitive, communication, physical and social and emotional development. Developmental characteristics of these children will be addressed, with a focus on enhancing teachers’ professional capacity in supporting them in the regular classroom. Curriculum, instructional issues, home-school supporting practices and community resources mobilization will be deliberated.

PGDC 5901  Teaching Practice
 

Teaching Practice (TP) is an integral part of the Postgraduate Diploma in Education (Early Childhood Education) Programme.  It provides opportunities for students to put theory into classroom practice. In order to support students’ professional development, practicum supervision will be conducted by the Faculty’s TP supervisors during the TP period. TP supervisors will assess students through formative and summative assessment, taking into consideration students’ teaching performance as well as their professional behaviour and attitude.

 

PGDP 5207 Teaching & Learning with Information & Communication Technology

 

The advancement of information and communication technology (ICT) provides teachers and students with new teaching and learning opportunities. This course aims at equipping participants with both pedagogical knowledge and technical skills to integrate ICT into the process of teaching and learning in primary education. Topics include: (1) development of multimedia and online resources for primary instructional practice; (2) eLearning design and resource development; (3) information literacy framework and development at primary school; (4) applications and challenges of ICT in instructional design.

 

PGDP 5209 Children’s Literature and Literacy Development

 

This course is designed to engage participants in using children’s literature to promote language development of young children in pre-primary and junior primary sectors. Apart from developing participants’ professionalism in children’s literature so that they will have a systematic and comprehensive knowledge of the basic literary theories and genres of children’s literature, this course also aims to enhance their appreciation of the range and depth of different kinds of children’s books, so as to establish their knowledge base of teaching activities and encourage them to develop young learners’ literacy skills through using children’s literature.

The course content mainly includes three major areas:
( 1 )  the significance, characteristics and educational functions of children’s literature;
( 2 )  the features of various forms of children’s literature (e.g., nursery rhymes, children’s poetry, fairy tales, biographies, stories, mythologies, fables, fictions, proses, and picture books); and
( 3 )  the appreciation and teaching of children’s literature: to build around the basic theory and knowledge of different genres of children’s literature, and interwoven with the reading and appreciation of works in various genres, it leads participants to explore the teaching activities and strategies in relation to the application of children’s literature in teaching, so as to develop young learners’ literacy

 

PGDP 5210 Play as an Integrated Learning Strategy for Children

 

The course aims to introduce theories, characteristics, and practices of play as an integrated learning strategy for children. Aspects to be covered in the course include:
( 1 )  characteristics of play;
( 2 )  theories and practices of play;
( 3 )  play as an integrated learning strategy for young children’s language, cognitive, social, emotional, and physical development;
( 4 ) play environment and resources;
( 5 ) assessing children's learning and development in play; and
( 6 ) teachers’ role in play.

 

PGDP 5306 Educational Policy & Practice in Hong Kong

 

This course aims to help perspective teachers to gain an understanding of the Hong Kong education system in relation to their occupational well being and working environment. It is designed to provide perspective teachers with analytical tools to comprehend and review educational policies and their implementation. Educational issues and policies in Hong Kong will be analyzed from an international-comparative perspective and a local concern for efficiency and equity. With a brief historical background, the empirical analysis of policies will begin with the 1982 Llewellyn Report and then extend to other educational policy papers and reports. Topics for analysis may include:
( 1 )  the school system and the curriculum;
( 2 )  allocation, selection and examination;
( 3 )  technical and vocational education;
( 4 )  quality in school,
( 5 )  gender and class differentials in education; and
( 6 )  teacher education and qualification.

 

PGDP 5312 Values and Moral Education

 

This course aims to help teachers to reflect on their own values and on the ways they teach values, especially moral values, in school. Among other important considerations, students are asked whether teachers should teach their own values in the classroom, and whether this is indeed inevitable. Through focusing on education as a means to nurture human qualities to promote personal and social well-being, the course examines a range of values such as truth, beauty, morality and sageness as embodied in “whole-person education”. The course acknowledges that education is unavoidably values laden and that moral values form an important core of the purpose of schools. During the course students will discuss the nature of morality and a number of important approaches to moral education, and then compare these to other types of values education. Students will also be asked to reflect upon how they understand their own personal and professional development in relation to values and moral education and how to enact their various roles in the school.

 

PGDP 5317 From Whence We Came: The Historical Contexts of Hong Kong Education

 

This course is designed to help students reflect on the social context and education system which they have lived with. By applying the historical perspective, the course will explain the key features of education in different periods, and analyse the relations between social development and the educational changes in the colonial era. It is intended to help them to have a broadened and more penetrating understanding of the uniqueness of Hong Kong education under British governance.

 

PGDP 5402 Psychological Development of the Child

 

This course aims to explore the context, the nature and the dynamics of child development.  The core of the course lies in two related aspects: (1) The theoretical understanding of child development in the social, emotional, intellectual, moral and aesthetic domains, and (2) The practical realization of child development in our school contexts.  Current issues of major concern (e.g. talent development and various kinds of psychological disturbances) will also be discussed.

 

PGDP 5408 Counselling Children

 

This course introduces basic counseling skills for working with children in response to a variety of developmental and/or adjustment issues. Topics to be covered include: ways to build rapport with children, use of toys, drama, art, music and other creative techniques to work with children with various abilities. Throughout the course, participants are expected to gain a better understanding of children’s feelings and needs, and to become more aware of the ways to respond to children that can facilitate the development of positive emotional relationship and improve behaviors which eventually allow more learning to take place. The roles of family and school in working with children will also be discussed.

 

PGDE 5319 Personal Growth of Teachers

 

This course aims at promoting among teachers an interest and readiness for taking charge of their personal growth.  It draws attention to the significance of mental and physical health, and a number of areas related teachers’ personal growth.  Upon satisfactory completion of the course, students should be able to identify the significance of personal growth, and recognize options for handling problems related to one’s mental and physical health.  Topics covered include: teachers and their careers, personal characteristic of an effective teacher, teacher self-concept, reflective ability of a teacher, teachers’ physical health, stress and burnout, supportive system, strategies for promoting personal growth, power to change and commitment to growth.  It also provides experiential learning activities to help teachers expand their self-awareness, and identify factors affecting their professional and personal development.

   
   
   

Copyright ©2016. All Rights Reserved. Faculty of Education, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer